Officers Honoured at Staffordshire Police Force Awards

Teams and individuals who have helped victims of domestic, closed down cannabis cultivations and solved financial exploitation cases, are among the police staff and officers who were recognised at a Staffordshire Police Force Awards evening.

The awards ceremony, took place last night (October 19) at the National Memorial Arboretum, and celebrated the achievements of staff who have excelled in their duties for the communities of Staffordshire.

Temporary Chief Constable Emma Barnett said: “The Force Awards was an opportunity to recognise the fantastic work being done by colleagues, which is making a real difference to our communities in Staffordshire. It’s a real highlight in the year for us to come together to recognise, celebrate and thank the award winners but also the wider force for their continuing hard work, dedication and professionalism.”

PC Kathryn Neville, part of the East Staffordshire Neighbourhood Team, was awarded the Lord Lieutenant’s Student Officer of the Year award having demonstrated exceptionally high standards and impressive results in her short time with the force.

Working on Operation Levidrome, which targets cannabis cultivations, Kathryn identified six separate sites and seized cannabis plants with a total value of over £500,000, charging and remanding two organised crime group members.

Kathryn used her problem-solving skills to address a financial exploitation case in Burton. She worked with partners to gain the confidence of the victims and was able to build a solid case. Through her own determination, two women were convicted and given significant sentences.

Reflecting on her award win, Kathryn said: “I work alongside a fantastic team of individuals and without their support I would not have been able to achieve this award. I am extremely grateful to receive this award and proud to be a police constable serving for Staffordshire Police.”

Special Constable Joshua Tyler Williams was awarded the PC John Taylor Memorial Award. This award recognises outstanding achievement which helps to deliver on the force’s vision of a safer Staffordshire through its purpose of working together to improve the safety and wellbeing of people, places and communities.

Joshua was recognised for his bravery and initiative in a number of incidents in the past year. In one instance, he bravely tackled a man who was in distress on the A500 flyover, regardless of the risk to himself, with his actions preventing serious harm to the man who then subsequently got the healthcare he needed.

The Leadership Award was awarded to Detective Chief Inspector Ash Farrington.

Ash was recognised for his determination on developing people, bringing teams together and working in partnership with other organisations. He was also acknowledged for piloting a new form of local safety coordination to keep vulnerable children and adults safe from domestic abuse and managing the first large-scale successful example of police and fire teams sharing the same location in Staffordshire.

Ash said: “I am incredibly humbled to have received the award. I have had such an amazing opportunity to serve the communities of Staffordshire and am immensely proud to be part of Staffordshire Police.

The Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner Award for Volunteer of the Year went to Elizabeth Shenton and Catherine Whitehouse.

Elizabeth and Catherine are Independent Custody Visitors (ICVs). 2020-21 was a difficult year for volunteers, as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic, with a significant proportion of voluntary work being suspended. ICVs were deemed to be key workers, however the risks identified meant that face to face custody visits were suspended.

Elizabeth and Catherine developed new processes and trialled/refined ways of ensuring detainees’ welfare was monitored and checked. They consistently attended all calls and established a good working relationship with the custody staff that enabled an efficient and effective way to monitor detainee’s welfare.

Both were key in ensuring that their fellow ICVs were kept in touch with and gave reassurance as the lockdown began to lift.

Deputy Commissioner Helen Fisher, who presented the Volunteer of the Year award on behalf of Staffordshire Commissioner Ben Adams, said: “It was an honour to be asked to present this award, recognising the important contribution volunteers make to policing. Volunteers like Elizabeth and Catherine show enormous dedication and commitment to their communities, and I thank them for their hard work on behalf of the people of Staffordshire.”

A full list of all the winners at this year’s Staffordshire Police Force Awards:

  • The Lord Lieutenant’s Award – PC Kathryn Neville
  • The High Sheriff’s Millennium Vase – DC Anthony David
  • PC John Taylor Memorial Award – SC Joshua Tyler-Williams
  • The David Beech Award for Local Policing – PC Stephen Chawner-Bowers and PCSO Hannah Chaplin
  • The Elsie Ashley Award – PCSO Louise Jones
  • The Equality and Diversity Award – Sgt Rob Gilligan
  • The Chief Constable’s Award – Insp Jonathan Staite
  • The Sue Parker Award – CI Karen Stevenson
  • The Christopher James Award – PCSO Andrew Bagnall, PCSO Keith Mellor and PC Simon Stone
  • The Josephine Cotterill Award – Fiona Peel and Amy Vukovic
  • The David Pearsall PCSO of the Year Award – PCSO Hilary Barrett
  • The Nick Tempest Award – SCI Josh Wright
  • Investigative Award – DI Scott McGrath, DS Phil Humphreys, Sgt Karina Bates, PC Dave Stubbs, PC Adam Coomer, DC Dave Stones, PC Clare Reynolds, PC Emma Holloway, Steph James and Rob Oldham
  • Leadership Award – DCI Ash Farrington
  • Safeguarding Award – Kerrie Whiston
  • Luke Van De Sande Award – Beth Windsor
  • Police Dog of the Year Award – PC Steve Smith and PD Etna, PC Robert Mountford and PD Tiger
  • Unison Award – Rob Birch
  • Art of Policing Award – PC Ellie Sewell and PC Kieran Gardner
Tony Walley
Tony Walley
News & Sport Editor

Must Read

Local Sport