Leek Town confirmed as heading to the NPL Premier Division

Leek Town’s promotion to the Northern Premier League Premier Division just got a bit more real as the FA have published their allocations for the 2024/25 non-league system.

An important date in the non-league calendar is the publication of the allocations because it allows club officials, players and fans alike the chance to start planning and preparing for the new season.
As expected, Leek Town have been placed in the Premier Division of the Northern Premier League, meaning they will compete in this division for the first time in 16 years- having last been in this division for the 2007-08 season.

The full lineup for the Premier Division is as follows: Ashton United, Bamber Bridge, Basford United, Blyth Spartans, FC United of Manchester, Gainsborough Trinity, Guiseley, Hebburn Town, Hyde United, Ilkeston Town, Lancaster City, Leek Town, Macclesfield, Matlock Town, Mickleover, Morpeth Town, Prescot Cables, Stockton Town, Warrington Rylands, Whitby Town, Workington and Worksop Town.

It means that Leek will renew friendships with the likes of Bamber Bridge, Basford United, Blyth Spartans, Hyde United and of course Macclesfield.

They will also face FC United of Manchester, Hebburn Town, Morpeth and Stockton Town for the first time in their history.

As well as Leek being new to the division, Prescot Cables joined Josh Brehaut’s men in being promoted from the NPL West. Elsewhere, Blyth Spartans have been relegated from the National League North. While two more North East sides in the form of Hebburn Town and Stockton Town join from the Northern Premier League East division.

Finally, Mickleover FC have been transferred from the Southern League Central Premier.

While Leek are preparing for life outside of the Northern Premier League West, planning for life in it is Congleton Town. The Bears won the Midlands Football League Premier Division last season. They have been confirmed as going into the Northern Premier League West.

In the NPL West, they will face several local derbies including Nantwich Town, Hanley Town, Kidsgrove Athletic and Newcastle Town.

The full list of that division is as follows: Atherton Collieries, Avro, Bootle, Chasetown, City of Liverpool, Clitheroe, Congleton Town, Hanley Town, Newcastle Town, Hednesford Town, Kidsgrove Athletic, Mossley, Nantwich Town, Runcorn Linnets, Stafford Rangers, Stalybridge Celtic, Trafford, Vauxhall Motors, Widnes, Witton Albion, Wythenshawe FC and Wythenshawe Town.

Along with Congleton- Wythenshawe FC and Wythenshawe Town have both been promoted (albeit from the North West Counties League).

On the other hand, Atherton Collieries and Stafford Rangers have both been relegated from the Premier Division. Meanwhile, Hednesford Town have been handed a reprieve having finished in the bottom two last season.

Stone Old Alleynians continue to play in the Midlands Football League Premier Division and, next season they will face: 1874 Northwich, AFC Wulfrunians, Brocton, Dudley Town, Highgate United, Lichfield City, Northwich Victoria, O J M Black Country, Romulus, Shifnal Town, Stourport Swifts, Studley, Tividale, Uttoxeter Town, Whitchurch Alport and Wolverhampton Casuals.

Finally, it is a big welcome back to the North West Counties Football League for Foley Meir.
Having finished in the top five of the Staffordshire County Senior League, they make an instant return to the non-league pyramid as they were relegated 12 months ago.

They will be up against: Abbey Hulton United, Allscott Heath, Alsager Town, Ashville, Barnton, Cammell Laird, Cheadle Heath Nomads, Eccleshall, Market Drayton Town, New Mills, Runcorn Town, Sandbach United, Shawbury United, Stafford Town, Stockport Georgians, Winsford United and Wolverhampton Sporting Community.

Leek Town fans keep an eye on the Moorlands Radio website over the next few weeks as we hope to preview the teams you will be facing in the 2024/25 Northern Premier League Premier.

Richard Scott
Richard Scott
Sports Reporter

Latest Local Sports News

Must Read News